Rants and raves about stuff happening in and around my life in Singapore

Friday, February 27, 2026

FoodPanda Hostage

8:07 PM By Barry Smyth , No comments

It's amazing how far downhill FoodPanda has fallen in Singapore. Oh sure it's great, as long as everything goes according to plan, but once you hit a problem, and I'm going to be brutally honest here, you are fucked.


 

I say this because FoodPanda does not care about you or your order in the slightest. Once your order is delayed they basically hold you hostage. It will start off with .. a slight delay ... and as you've been watching the time count down suddenly it goes back up, in some cases to what it was when you first ordered. Clearly their understanding of a "slight delay" very much on a different level to anyone else.

Then when you check the order a little later you'll get the ... there is a surge of orders for this restaurant ... which of course is usually bullshit, the real reason is they cannot find a rider. Or worse (which I've witnessed personally on the app) the rider cancels the pickup and it goes to another rider, and then it's rinse and repeat for a few times. Meanwhile you are still waiting, and yes still being held a hostage.

On the app itself there is absolutely nothing you can do. You can try to cancel the order after you've waited for over an hour (yes there's no option to cancel until then because FoodPanda doesn't care about you in the slightest), but the last time I looked at that option it was a cancel with no refund, so not only was I held hostage they had taken to mentally torturing me as an added bonus.

Of course it compounds the issue when you've also paid for priority delivery, something I advice everyone never to do, because it means absolutely nothing. I mean if they can't find a rider, or riders are changing like the weather and you're food gets delayed it just adds salt to the wounds they've inflicted as part of their mental torture. 

Next day I even tried doing an advance order for 6:30pm. At 7:30pm+ Foodpanda cancelled the order, I'm pretty certain that it was done because I was trying to talk with them on Facebook messenger trying to find out when my order would be delivered (at 7:30pm there was still a 50min wait by the way). So people take note, if you even try to find out what's happening you risk your order being cancelled so they don't have to deal with you. 

There's no chat, no email you can complain to, just nothing you can do. And why is that, because FoodPanda does not give a shit about you or your order. They couldn't care less. They already have your money and clearly view anything that could remotely pass for customer service as completely unnecessary.

So if you're reading this and can relate, then you know what I mean. And if its never happened to you have no fear it absolutely will, and when it does feel free to come back to this post and vent your fury.

FOLLOW UP  4th MAR 26

So I attempted to raise my issue with FoodPanda after finding a number of emails. One was sent to the corporate devision (corporate@foodpanda.sg). A nice guy by the name of Michael (an assumption just based on the fact that he actually replied) sent me back an email asking me to use the in app help function. Yeah the in-app help function that I've mentioned in the post above. So it seems even their corporate office don't give a shit about their customers either. 


Whatsapp Line

0 comments:

Post a Comment